* Special notice for PCAM 2020 contests*

Due to limited time, the virtual conditions, and the global reach of attendees we have made the decision to limit the number of contestants and contests offered for this particular virtual convention. 

We will have four Categories: Stage & Close Up in Adult and Youth. Youth will encompass both Juvenile and Junior competitors, and awards will be judged according to age. Comedy, Mentalism, and Originality can be part of either Stage or Close Up. The Platform, Assistant, and Children’s contest will not be contested.  As we are all part of the PCAM Family this really doesn’t need to be addressed, but the use of digitally enhanced effects will result in disqualification.

The PCAM is a convention known for (among other things) its contests.  Every year magicians can enter a wide range of categories covering most of the magical arts.  If you are interested in competing in a contest there are 12 categories to choose from (click on a category to see the past winners):

If you have any questions about the contests please email Contest Chairperson and Past President, Kevin Cardona, at [email protected].

The rules of the PCAM General Contests are available online by clicking here.

If you would like to register for the upcoming competitions please fill out this online form. Contest Entry Deadline – November 15, 2020 – No walk-in Contest Entries. Also, a $5.00 entry fee will be collected via Paypal invoice sent upon application.

Grand Prix du Honneur

The most prestigious award at the annual PCAM Convention is The Grand Prix du Honneur which acknowledges exceptional achievement in magic.  The Grand Prix is not awarded every year, in fact – it has only been awarded five times in the history of the PCAM.  In order to receive this honour an act must receive over 95 points (out of 100) during their act in one of the General Contest Categories, as listed above.  Here are the recipients:

Year Grand Prix Winner
2012 Michael Dardant & Kitty Kaos
2000 Shawn Farquhar
1988 Roy Shank
1983 Kevin James
1978 Patrick Martin (Double Grand Prix for both Close-Up Magic and Stage Magic)
1972 Michi Hasegawa